A Project I Can’t Wait To Try UPDATE!

The Beibs.jpg

I am not a Justin Beiber fan. Probably because I’m 35 years old and I have two daughters under ten. Because of this, there are random issues of teenage magazines around the house. Think Bop. Tiger Beat. I was paging through one today, while looking for an one inch picture of Taylor Swift to make into a Christmas present. I came across this picture if the Beibs.

I love the idea of taking a sweatshirt and making it into this cool zipper deal. I would omit the zips on the sleeves. The hoodies are on sale at Joann right now. Well, lets be honest. What ISN’T on sale at Joann ever?! I think it would be cool to make the pocket one sided instead of kangaroo. I may give this a shot. I’m stoked.

UPDATE! UPDATE! I DID IT! I DID IT!

IMcS Sweatshirt Overhaul.jpg

So my husband and kids were out of town. I had only been to Joann three times in two days. What’s one more? For $10 I picked up an XL hoodie and a dual separating zipper and got to work.

I apologize for no tutorial, but I will give you the lowdown. Next time I make one I will take step by step pictures.

1. Wash the sweatshirt. It sounds like a pain, though it will shrink and shift. You want it to do that before you start alterations.

2. Turn the sweatshirt inside out and put that baby on. Pin the sweatshirt down the arms and the sides so it fits the way you want it to. Take it off very carefully.

3. Sew the path of the pins and cut off any extra fabric. I used a stretch stitch. On this particular sweatshirt I cut a LOT of fabric off. If you have a serger, I recommend using that. It was late and I knew Mumsy McAwesome would be less than thrilled if I came over to use hers at that time of night.

4. Try the sweatshirt on again and be sure that it is the cut you want. You are able to go back and make any changes at this point. I would do it before you go on to Zipperville.

5. ZIPPER TIME! First lay the zipper on your garment about where you want it. I wanted to be sure the zipper went to the side of the kangaroo pocket and sewed it shut. Because this was a dual separating zipper, it was also important that the bottom stayed in tact. I fully expected to cut some of the zipper, with a dual separating, it seemed easier that I would cut at the top. When you know the  approximate path of your zipper, draw it on the  sweatshirt with a fabric pencil. Cut this line.

6. I hear so many people are scared of zippers. Don’t be. They aren’t that hard. I will be posting a zipper tutorial soon. I Googled it and nobody has directions for the way I do it. After watching a few of those videos, I see why people are freaked over them.

Caro's Zipper Picture

Here’s the quick and dirty: Sew right sides together. Seriously. Keep it simple for yourself. It looks just as good. I learned how to do it last Christmas when I made 19 of these bags. This photo from Caro’s tutorial shows the basic idea. This tutorial rocks. Make one or seven.

 

7. Make any alterations to the zipper. If you need to cut off the top of your zip, be sure to sew across it a few times so you don’t lose your pull. I said pull, not cool. That is a whole different blog post!

8. You. Are. Done. Try it on! Do you love it? I may embellish mine with a repurposed tee, change the drawcord. Get REAL crazy. Or I may just leave this one plain. I am going to scour the internet for different colored zippers. My local haunt didn’t have a color selection.

Have fun! Post pics of your creations! I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Next time I fashion one of these babies, I will post a tutorial…and a Cheating Zipper Tutorial. Looks like I have got my work cut out for me!

Craft on!

 

About irishmcsweeney

I'm always up for a craft night or gabbing about The Muppets. I'm a working mother of two amazing girls, so making time is my biggest challenge. And did I mention my advanced talent in sarcasm?
This entry was posted in Fun Project!, Sew Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

